Moving

I think moving out of your parents house is a big step. I’m starting to go to university now, and since the uni is not in my hometown, I have to move out. Fortunately the school is near enough that I can come home on weekends.

I really like living with my parents and my dog but I am also excited to get more independent and live alone. I think the most exciting part of moving out is buying new furniture and decorations and plants for the apartment. That’s so much fun!

plant_family
my little plant family

At first, I thought it would take some time until I feel comfortable. But now, that I have lived here for almost two weeks, I can say it was not as hard as I thought it would be. I feel comfortable and I really like my apartment but it doesn’t really feel like home yet.

new_apartment2

I think that’s rather because of the new city than because of the apartment. I haven’t seen that much of the city yet, except for the university and the area where I am living. Today I walked a little around in the city. It a small, old city but kind of cute.

“I hope that a fresh start into a new part of my life will give me new inspiration for art and things like that. A new, clean workspace can do wonders, I hope.” – That was what I first thought and what I hoped for. But I totally hate the first drawing I did in here. Maybe I’ll have to get used to the new surroundings and then my drawings will get better again?

img_0860

In this post I just wanted to show you what my apartment and my new workspace look like right now, even though it is not quite finished yet. I really like how simple it is.

new_apartment1
A carpet is still missing and obviously a lot of books in my bookshelf. But why should I bring all my books? Now I have more motivation to fill that empty space!

new_apartment

new_apartment

And if you’ve made it until here, you’ll also get to see my newest painting, the first one I did in my apartment, even though I am not completely satisfied with it. If I’m honest, I gave up on this painting when it was only halfway finished. Some paintings won’t come out as good as other ones, but that’s life and hopefully I will love the next one or the one after that, again.

first_painting_in_apartment

gold_embellishment
I also did some gold embellishment on the eyes.

Leave a comment