Welcome to my blog!

Dies ist die Kurzfassung des Beitrags.

Hello!

As you can see, I decided to start a blog. This is something I’ve always wanted to do but I never knew what to write about. Now that I am painting and I’m kind of satisfied with my artworks, I feel like that is a thing to write about.

So I started painting almost a year ago, in October 2016, and since then I have filled almost 3 sketchbooks! I’ve improved quite a bit. If you’d like to follow my development as an artist, feel free to check out my Instagram, which is also somebodysart.

So how did I come up with this name and what does it mean? To be completely honest, this name does not have a big meaning. I really wanted to start an Instagram account about my art and I didn’t know which name to use. I didn’t want to use my real name because I thought it would be awkward if my friends and other people I know, knew about my art. They should think, if they’d see my account, it’s just somebodys art. And still, only my parents know about somebodysart.

Here, on my first post, I want to show you my first sketches and drawings, which I was super proud of, but now that I look back at it, I can see all the mistakes that I’ve made. My first sketchbook was a Moleskine and the second one was from the brand Stillman & Born from the zeta series, I think, which is mixed media paper.

 

my first sketches-1
My first ever sketches using a reference photo.
my first sketches-2
More sketches from reference.
watercolor-in-moleskine
This was the first time I tried to use watercolor in my Moleskine sketchbook. Didn’t work out because it wasn’t watercolor paper. Second page shows some watercolor swatches and doodles.
first painting
Here’s my first painting done with watercolor on watercolor paper.
first pages in new sketchbook
The first two pages of my second sketchbook – I was super proud of them!
first landscape
My first landscape painting from reference.
first figure studies
My first figure studies from a book, my mom gave to me. This was also the first time painting with gouache on a black background.
more landscapes and figure studies
More landscapes and figure studies.
first real portrait
This was my first portrait that turned out really well. I’m still proud of this and I also still like the hand on the right side.
first gouache portrait
This painting here, was my first portrait done with gouache. I still really like it!
last pages in new sketchbooks
These are the last two pages of my second sketchbook.

I hope you’ve been able to see some of my progress through my first two sketchbooks. Maybe, some day if you’d like, I’ll make a whole video about my sketchbooks, so you can see everything I did.

Leave a comment